RSS Feed

The Stick Figure of Uncle Bingo (with a nod to Oscar Wilde)

If you have followed my adventures here, you know that I kind of look like everyman *. What you may not know is that I have often been thought of as being much younger than I really am. I am about to reveal my secret, so keep it to yourself folks.

In the summer of 2000 my niece came into the world and a few years later she gave me the nickname of Uncle Bingo**. Her reasoning was “I don’t know just because”. Well who was I to argue. A while later, after it looked the nickname was going to stick, I received a picture from my niece. It was a wonderful rendition of Uncle Bingo in Colorado.  The mountain peaks were jagged , the grass was green and Uncle Bingo was stick like. It was beautiful and I proudly displayed it upon my refrigerator.

Over the years the picture has remained on my fridge but is in less than pristine condition. Through cooking sessions, yes I cook and quite well ladies, late night snack raids and early morning breakfasts without my glasses, the picture has become slightly stained, smudged and encrusted with barbecue sauce , juice and yogurt. Yes in that order , it documents my path to a healthy lifestyle.  Stick Figure Bingo did not fair well and could not avoid the “crustification”.

When surprised to find out my age many people have remarked that they thought I was at least 10 years younger. If I were to estimate the age of the picture it would be around 10 years. A coincidence perhaps but it’s not as if I have lived a healthy lifestyle my entire life. I certainly had some misspent years during my youth and there was also my “pool hall “ period. No, I am sticking, no pun intended, with my story. My nieces picture has frozen me in time. It continues to “crustify” and I continue to appear ten years younger.

Go ahead, don’t believe me. You’ll change your mind when some time from now the blue, green and flesh-colored crayon succumbs to time and spillage and my physical appearance transforms from Uncle Bingo to stick figure Bingo. At least I won’t be confused with anyone else.

* see https://thesoundoflaughter.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/im-that-guy-from-that-thing/

**see https://thesoundoflaughter.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/uncle-bingos-travelling-road-show/

About SoundOfLaughter

I am a retired engineer originally from Chicago. Relocated to Kansas during my youth. This led me to believe we were in the witness protection program. Much to my chagrin, this turned out to not be the case. Matriculated at the University of Kansas.

2 responses »

  1. I’d love to continually look 10 years younger – may I have your niece’s number?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

The Sound of Laughter

A Place To Share Some Grins

julius22193

keep going

The Godly Chic Diaries

BY GRACE THROUGH FAITH

Words with a View

The way I see it...

SONDER

EVERYONE HAS A STORY

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Book Blogger, Poetry and Fiction Writer.

Travel Much?

Never cease to explore and tell!

The Better Man Project

the story of a human being unfolding

The DRAGONE Files

DRAGONE critiques Current Events, News, Science, Entertainment, and Love

Michelle Jester

My Thoughts on Just About Anything. Yes, I know it's Broad.

,mxmxci.

satire.melodrama. etc.

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

junk

a literary fix

Lisa Scullard

- Just another indie author letting things get out of hand :)

A Girl In Europe

A blog by Robyn Christi

Eloises Edibles

The relatable foodies blog